Talk

Advanced search

Physics help

(12 Posts)
sadie3 Tue 23-Oct-12 18:20:39

Does anyone know where I can find GCSE practice test (with answers) on light and sound waves?

BellaVita Tue 23-Oct-12 18:24:11

does this help at all?

sadie3 Tue 23-Oct-12 18:26:53

Thank you, youre so kind.

I found this if anyone elses DC needs it.

http://chemactive.com/worksheets/gcse/physics/waves_questions.pdf

VintageRainBoots Tue 23-Oct-12 18:29:52

I have a physics degree if you get stuck on a particular problem. Just send me a message and I'll try to help.

BellaVita Tue 23-Oct-12 18:31:39

Amazon do practice papers not sure if they cover light and sound?

sadie3 Tue 23-Oct-12 18:34:14

Thank you so much, you are both lovely.

Knowsabitabouteducation Thu 25-Oct-12 09:38:44

Which exam board is your DC using?

One problem you will face with getting practice papers is that there just aren't many available. This is only the second year of the Year 10 course, so only 3 past papers are available. The are still password protected.

sadie3 Thu 25-Oct-12 09:54:16

Its AQA. There is loads of material out there on various websites but no answers, which is frustrating.

Knowsabitabouteducation Thu 25-Oct-12 09:56:29

There will be lots of info out there, but not much specific to his course.

sadie3 Thu 25-Oct-12 10:03:02

Yes, its frustrating for the children and us parents. This is the price of the governments hair trigger reaction to GCSEs unfortunately.

clairecasta Thu 25-Oct-12 21:32:50

As a secondary physics teacher I was surprised to hear that you had difficulties finding past papers (or at least some sample papers) with markschemes.

I always recommend going to the website of the relevant exam board and looking carefully in their resources section.

I had a quick look at the AQA website and found this link which has the specimen papers and markschemes.

www.sciencelab.org.uk/support/question-papers-mark-schemes.php