Talk

Advanced search

ds got his first geograpghy homework yesterday....

(17 Posts)
haggisaggis Thu 18-Aug-11 13:05:40

To cover his jotter!
I remember doing this at primary school - mum bought sheets of brown paper for the purpose. Do your schools still do this? What do your dc use? (I don't think brown paper is that popular now!)

swearbyit Thu 18-Aug-11 20:27:40

I'm a geography teacher. Cannot fail to be impressed by a section of a map used as a cover. Doesn't matter where of, just maps, maps, maps. Or a nice collage of places your son may or may not have visited - will give him an air of mystery!!! I am a dullard though. With brown patches on my elbows.

webwiz Thu 18-Aug-11 22:18:21

DS uses clear sticky plastic to cover his books.

BikeRunSki Thu 18-Aug-11 22:20:09

My dad used to use wall paper on my books, then I used posh wrapping when I got older.

festi Thu 18-Aug-11 22:24:29

ha ha wall paper, I hated the thick artex type bobbly stuff.

posters of kurt cobain and jonny dep always got ripped off by teachers sad

Jesusgirl Fri 19-Aug-11 16:59:19

I got some clear plastic wrappers from tesco. They're really good.

I remember the brown paper! I schooled in Africa and it's funny we're not the only ones that used brown paper!

TheMonster Fri 19-Aug-11 17:05:49

If you go to Staples you can buy stretchy fabric covers.

TheMonster Fri 19-Aug-11 17:06:40

here

hocuspontas Fri 19-Aug-11 17:17:04

Brown paper covers brings back memories! We used to whip the front cover backwards and forwards really quickly to see who could produce the best firework-type crackle!

pointydog Fri 19-Aug-11 17:37:44

The dds use wrapping paper that we have in the house. Then they jazz them up, sometimes in a ridiculously elaborate fashion.

cat64 Fri 19-Aug-11 17:45:22

Message withdrawn

pointydog Fri 19-Aug-11 17:46:00

I used to use pages of Smash Hits. Wallpaper was soo primary.

BehindLockNumberNine Tue 23-Aug-11 07:34:32