Talk

Advanced search

This book has really got me thinking, would love to hear other peoples thoughts....

(5 Posts)
PamHorsey Wed 10-Aug-11 11:02:55

Hi there,

I hope you're all well.

I'm wondering if you may be able to help me with something I've been thinking about a lot.

I read in a book recently about 'dealing with death'. It has a statement that says 'People study for weeks for a birth, years for life, but never for a death'.

It really got me thinking. So, I've written a little more detail below and would love you to read through and let me know your thoughts and experiences. Having been a teaching assistant in the past, I'm wondering if there is more that could/should be done to help people 'deal' with death....

I am aware that lots of people will have very different views here, I'd just really like to hear individual views if people have time to give them.

Thanks.

Let me explain....

I'm a women in my mid 30's, I am trying for a child and I used to be a teacher assistant. Anyway, being 30, I have had some people I love and am close to die, eg: my grandmother, 1 close friend and some family friends. I am also a massive horse lover and have had to say painful goodbyes to my much loved animals. As we all know, death is painful and we all deal with it in very very different ways. Some people like to talk about death, others don't, it's often a taboo subject, some people take their children to funerals, others don't etc...... I've been pretty shielded from talking about death, mainly due to my mothers father dying when she was 16 and she finds it incredibly hard to talk about him/death.

So, having read this book and having had some teaching experience and having had my own experiences of dealing with death at a young age and struggling, I wonder whether more could be done to assist young people, eg; through one off workshops given at schools/youth clubs?

Maybe covering things like?

- How to help a friend who may have a friend who is dealing with death