Talk

Advanced search

Son really upset about his Sciences :(

(14 Posts)
benetint Thu 28-Jul-11 19:02:34

DS1 is really down in the dumps at the moment and I really want to help him. As long as I can remember he's wanted to be a vet but he has to get really high grades in his sciences to do this. Up until now he's always been really good at science but he finds his current GCSE teacher intimidating and difficult to understand. Both his grades and confidence are plummeting. I know he might change his mind career wise and I'd never put any pressure on him but I just want to help him enjoy science again if possible and get his confidence back.

Has anyone been through this? What did you do to help? I'm not a natural scientist so there's a limit to how much I can help him. I've talked to the school but haven't seen any improvements as yet.

Can anyone recommend any good out of school lessons in the Nottingham area?

Many thanks

basingstoke Thu 28-Jul-11 19:05:49

Does he have just the one teacher for all the sciences? That would be quite unusual for GCSE.

mollymole Thu 28-Jul-11 19:21:18

how is he taking his sciences - if he wants to be a vet surely he is taking the 3 sciences as separate subjects so will have 3 different teachers - perhaps you should have a word with the head of department

benetint Thu 28-Jul-11 19:26:01

Thanks for your posts. The secondary school he's in doesn't offer separate sciences - he's doing all three but they are combined so its just one teacher. I didn't realise this was unusual?

mollysmum82 Thu 28-Jul-11 19:30:01

I'm sorry he's feeling down xx

My sister lives in Sherwood, Nottingham and she had an amazing tutor for her DCs. She had a slightly different situation to you - her son was failing his A Level Chemistry but this tutor managed to help him enjoy it again and even take it for A2. She's now helping her daughter too and she's on to get in for medicine! PM me if you want contact details?