Talk

Advanced search

How tough is P.E in secondary schools?

(14 Posts)
robingood19 Sat 16-Jul-11 14:09:50

My neighbour has a lad going to senior school soon is is not good at athletics etc

cory Sat 16-Jul-11 14:39:20

In an ordinary state school I think you can expect to find it quite inclusive, with lots of different things to try and not too much pressure. My dd is disabled so she doesn't usually take part at all, but what she tells me sounds quite friendly and reassuring. Ds is going up this September and he is suspected dyspraxic and with dodgy joints, but I expect him to be fine.

mollymole Sat 16-Jul-11 14:43:33

secondary school PE is of a very basic standard- and if there are any good kids then they might find that thier talents are not exactly appreciated - what is usually good is that there are a wide range of 'sports' on offer
cory - can't the school find things for your daughter to become involved in at PE ( i am an athletics coach with extra qualifications in children and disability groups)

cory Sat 16-Jul-11 15:59:08

She has been to one disabled activity day, molly, and there is talk of her doing more, but day to day PE is a bit more problematic: as it is a painful joint disorder, ordinary disabled activities can be a bit tricky, and swimming would require being bussed out of school= missing lessons (which is already a massive problem due to her condition).

bebumba Sat 16-Jul-11 20:17:17

At my ds secondary school the children are set for PE so that children work with others of similar ability. After the first half-term the sets became more fluid with children moving regularly between groups. don't know if this is the case in all schools.

marriedinwhite Sun 17-Jul-11 08:09:42