Talk

Advanced search

Time off for dd's assembly - is this a reasonable request?

(10 Posts)
sallycinamon Wed 29-Jun-11 16:40:17

Hi
I'm a secondary school teacher and want to have a lesson off (60mins) to see my daughter, who is in Year 1, in her class assembly.
I'm prepared to take the time off unpaid.
I still think the Head will say no though.
I wouldn't bother to ask but my husband can't go and I missed her nativity this year because I was at work myself so would like to see this assembly.
Is this a laughable request?!
Anyone else been allowed time off for such things?
Thanks

TechLovingDad Wed 29-Jun-11 16:41:19

Why don't you ask and find out? Unfortunately, we won't know what the head will say.

hocuspontas Wed 29-Jun-11 16:47:55

I think those of us who work in schools limit the amount of times we ask for time off to see our children performing. If you feel confident that the HT will allow this a reasonable amount of times over the course of your dd's education, I would go ahead and ask, otherwise maybe just limit it to special occasions e.g. major part in a play, special award assembly etc. Good luck though!

Mutt Wed 29-Jun-11 16:51:17

Message withdrawn at poster's request.

mnistooaddictive Wed 29-Jun-11 17:23:56

My suggestion is to see who is free when you merchant the cover. If there is soneone you could ask to cover you that may help I.e. To tell the head "Glendale had said she is happy to cover me"it may help your case!

bubblecoral Wed 29-Jun-11 20:54:34

I think you need to decide how important this assembly is, because if something bigger comes along, you won't be able to ask as easily next time.

Can you find someone to cover? I think you need to go to your head with the answers to any questions she will have, like who is going to take your class being the biggest one! Who will plan the lesson, why do you think you will be able to miss this lesson without detriment to your class etc.