Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Higher Music help!

(10 Posts)
WaxOnFeckOff Mon 16-Oct-17 20:17:43

Ds2 is crashing Higher Music. he has to hand in a draft of his composition on Friday. He seems to think that he needs to record this to hand in but really isn't sure what he is doing. He's written it in tab but is then stuck. He thought of recording it on his phone but doesn't seem keen to give his teacher that for her to listen to it on.

I am sure there is an easy solution but not being musical i'm not sure. He mumbled something about garageband app but isn't sure how that works and also thinks he'd need to convert all his tab to notes (?).

He says he will have to add in other instruments at some point too.

Anyone know what their DC have used/are using?

PringlesPirate Tue 17-Oct-17 13:28:02

When I studied higher music, they let us compose on sybelius software on a PC.

Has the teacher not given them any idea of formats they will accept?

GarageBand is great though. Apple/iPhone app and I find it quite user friendly.

WaxOnFeckOff Tue 17-Oct-17 13:41:03

I don't really rate her to be honest but also DS is not the best at making sure he undersatnds what needs to be done.

We looked a bit further into the GarageBand stuff last night and I found instructions on how to email whatever he did. What he didn't like about it was the tap/strum thing in it. He is doing the Bass and Guitar as his instruments and seems to want to play his instrument rather than use the facility on the app.

I've said to him that in my opinion they are not looking to assess his playing abilities just his composition so using whatever is on the app should be fine.

I've asked him to check with the teacher today if he sees her.

I'm just glad that he isn't asking on Thursday night and that he is actually asking rather than just ignoring it and hoping it goes away which was his behaviour pattern with lots of things last year.

WaxOnFeckOff Tue 17-Oct-17 13:41:39