Talk

Advanced search

Volunteering opportunities abroad for DD?

(16 Posts)
Euphemia Sat 15-Oct-16 21:30:24

Does anyone know organisations that could help arrange something for DD (currently in S3) in India or Malawi?

She was very disappointed to learn that her school only does a trip to India for S6 every other year, and that it won't be available to her year.

I wondered if I could organise something during school holidays - I'm a teacher so I could go too.

She'll be 17 at the start of S6, and really fancies something involving children/schools.

WankersHacksandThieves Sat 15-Oct-16 21:53:52

Would she be interested in joining the Scouts? They often organise trips to Africa etc to do community work. That way sh'd be part of a group of people she had got to know.

Euphemia Sat 15-Oct-16 21:58:52

She used to be in Guides but got bored with it. She would join Scouts if her pals would! Hadn't thought of that, so I'll look into it - thanks!

ThatStewie Sat 15-Oct-16 22:08:45

Do you mean voluntourism? If you do, then this article explains why it's massively inappropriate and, frankly, extremely damaging to children to have western kids traipsing over to spend 4-6 weeks working in schools and orphanages when they lack the skills and time to do so in an appropriate manner that is of beneficial support to other children. Most major NGOs no longer support this type of activity as it is unethical.

If your DD wants to work with children, she is far better looking at local organisations that have appropriate training programs that will allow her to volunteer ethically in a way that is beneficial to other people rather than her CV.

ThatStewie Sat 15-Oct-16 22:16:07

This article is very good on why it's actually a massive child protection risk to encourage this kind of unethical practise.

Groovee Sun 16-Oct-16 09:29:11