Talk

Advanced search

Moving to the Highlands

(14 Posts)
user1471083768 Sat 13-Aug-16 12:43:52

Our family will be moving to Scotland within the next 12 months for work reasons. We are looking at the Inverness area (including Beauly / Fort Augustus and environs. Possibly going as far west as Elgin. We have a 6 year old and an 8 year old and would really appreciate advice on super schools and - looking ahead - fabulous secondary schools or equivalent. My children currently go to a small village school and would be more comfortable in a small rather than a large school. Also, I'm a qualified primary teacher and wonder how easy it would be to find work in schools in that area. All advice much appreciated. Thank you.

OllyBJolly Sat 13-Aug-16 13:00:54

Inverness and Elgin don't look too far apart but it's a very busy road. I regularly do Inverness-Nairn.It's 13 miles but can take 45 minutes.

Nairn is nice with good schools. Beautiful, large beach and looks very family friendly. A lot of new housing and I suspect schools might be a bit oversubscribed.

If I had the choice I'd go more towards Fort Augustus or consider the Black isle. (although I think the bridge can be very congested at peak times)

Haggisfish Sat 13-Aug-16 13:02:35

If you qualified anywhere other than Scotland, you have to register with teaching council Scotland to be allowed to teach and you have to complete a probationary year again, no matter your level of experience (I think).

Pokedex Sat 13-Aug-16 13:09:46

Message withdrawn at poster's request.

Missgraeme Sat 13-Aug-16 13:15:52

So envious!!! Enjoy!!

fuckweasel Sat 13-Aug-16 14:28:06

....you have to complete a probationary year again, no matter your level of experience (I think).

Not necessarily, I was given full registration straight off based on prior experience.

Haggisfish Sat 13-Aug-16 14:31:01

Ok, I am wrong! smile

doodlejump1980 Sat 13-Aug-16 14:34:08