Talk

Advanced search

HND at college and paternity leave

(13 Posts)
mayaknew Sat 01-Aug-15 17:43:19

Dh is starting an HND at Glasgow City college in a couple weeks . I'm due dc3 due in February . Will he get any paternity leave from the course ?

Will it affect his student loan ? And more importantly will the college allow him to take a couple weeks off and continue on the course ?

purplemurple1 Sat 01-Aug-15 17:54:35

I've not studied in Scotland but where I studied in England, neither parent got official parental leave but you could apply for mitigating circumstances and get extensions on course work if you needed.
It made no diff to the loan.

mayaknew Sat 01-Aug-15 18:10:08

Thanks purple . I've looked on SAAS website and googled but I can't find anything at all !!

Surely with the amount of mature students these days this is fairly common ? Maybe not every year but he can't be the first student with a pregnant missus gringrin

Stripeysocksarecool Sun 02-Aug-15 10:59:50

Why on earth would you expect to get paternity leave from studying? Paternity leave is what you get when you have a job. For a definitive answer your DH should ask the college.

mayaknew Sun 02-Aug-15 11:10:36

Because life doesn't stop just because you are studying confused

I'm a student and I get normal mat leave .

GloriaPritchett Sun 02-Aug-15 12:23:13

I think he'd only get two weeks, sorry. Isn't an HND only 15 hours a week?

here

But it does say that a change is pending in policy.

ClaudiusMaximus Sun 02-Aug-15 12:30:00

Message withdrawn at poster's request.

toddlersareeasier Sun 02-Aug-15 12:38:24

An HND is 15 hours or 3 days a week... you really don't need paternity leave.

Stripeysocksarecool Sun 02-Aug-15 13:06:46

15 hours a week??! Is it a course you are meant to do part time? Difficult to see how or why you would need paternity leave from a course which is 15 hours a week.

mayaknew Sun 02-Aug-15 13:12:16