Talk

Advanced search

Holiday clubs - run my own?

(15 Posts)
ohreallyohreallyoh Mon 11-Dec-17 22:11:22

I am a qualified secondary teacher and have some ideas for a holiday club to be run for a couple of weeks in summer 2018. If successful, I have some follow on ideas for October and Easter 2019.

It is early days and I am researching at the moment but would be interested in communicating with people who have run their own clubs. In particular, what do I really need to look out for? What might cause me problems?

Many thanks

Heratnumber7 Mon 11-Dec-17 22:21:32

Insurance won't be cheap. But if you have a good idea you can deliver at a good price in a convenient location - go for it!

ChocolateIsAFruit Sat 16-Dec-17 19:21:21

If you have people working for you who are genuinely interested and fun to be with this would be a differentiator to some of the standard holiday clubs. I for one would pay a premium for this

ohreallyohreallyoh Sun 17-Dec-17 13:50:12

Thanks, chocolate. So maybe work with people who usually work in schools? Maybe see if I can find some TAs or play workers who usually work in schools who might want some extra over the holidays rather than use A level students looking to work? My idea is French/Spanish based with language learning, crafts, outdoor games, film etc. all based around the language and culture. I am thinking of 2 weeks - one French, one Spanish. Probably separated so week 2 and 5 of the holiday.

How much is a premium for you? I am thinking £20-25 per day with snacks and drinks but bring your lunch running from 9am - 5pm with an additional charge for an earlier and/or later pick up. Maximum of 25 children, no one younger than 8. Would be me to lead and 2 others max although Imsuspect one will need to be a 6th form leaver (I have someone in mind who I think would be fab but I take the point).

Does any of that change how you feel about it? Would your child still want to attend? Would you want your child to attend?