Talk

Advanced search

Term time holidays and fines

(10 Posts)
Gemlou82 Sat 17-Jan-15 18:50:18

Hi all,

I'm new to this, only just signed up in fact, and I'm not sure if I'm posting this in the right place, but could really do with some help please.

I have booked a holiday in May and will be taking my children out of school for 10 days, I'm fully aware that it won't be authorised and I will get fined, but I'm wondering if my children's dad will as well?

We do not live together, haven't been a couple for over 7 years and I have full custody. He is telling me that he will be fined as well and that I will have to pay it (not an issue) as he can't afford to.

I was under the impression that it was the parent the child lives with who is fined (or both if they live together).

I have tried searching online for the answer but it isn't clear. Does anyone have any experience or advice they can give me please?

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

lljkk Sat 17-Jan-15 20:09:28

Are you sure you'll be fined? most LAs won't bother if child has a generally good attendance record (speaking as a Holiday Criminal myself).

I think something to do with parental responsibility, and parents without PR don't get fined. But I can't promise.

OneThenTwo Mon 19-Jan-15 10:18:03

It depends on the school - our children's school fines for any term time holidays - even families with otherwise 100% attendance. It's just a matter of policy as far as they are concerned. But the fines come direct from the council as they are notified by the school so there will only be a fine to the one address where they live during the school week as that's what the school has on file. It wouldn't be legal to fine both parents as it would be discrimination.

mummymeister Mon 19-Jan-15 14:30:09