Talk

Advanced search

Will you go back to work, and when?

(61 Posts)
fiveacres Tue 26-May-15 13:04:32

For me it will possibly be in 2020 shock

I've no idea what I'll do though grin

306235388 Tue 26-May-15 13:09:13

Yes definitely. I'm hoping to get a plae to do a PGDE in 2016/17 or if not 2017/18.

I've been a SAHM 8 years already though

morethanpotatoprints Tue 26-May-15 13:10:56

High fiveacres

I don't have any plans to return to work, ever grin
what did you do before dc? Is it something you would like to go back to, or do you want something completely new?

fiveacres Tue 26-May-15 13:15:20

I was a teacher, but don't think I want to go back to that. I've no idea about how to solve childcare issues though, so I might have to. hmm

morethanpotatoprints Tue 26-May-15 13:18:30

five

Not as well paid but those jobs in Museums look fun.
The ones with a coordinator covering Ks1/2 subjects.
I nearly went for one of these myself, but nowhere near the salary of an experienced teacher.

fiveacres Tue 26-May-15 13:20:05

I'm not primary trained but I think they are much sought after in any case - quite apart from the lack of museums local to me!

howabout Tue 26-May-15 15:36:28

I have been a SAHM for 14 years with no plans to re-enter the work place. However if the right opportunity doing something interesting presented itself then I would. I would probably be too old to re-enter my profession now and I would certainly need to do a lot of skills updating.

Think you are right about museum / quasi teaching roles being sought after five and I would wonder if you might not end up being paid a lot less with a lot less flexibility / family friendly hours than if you did supply or reduced hours teaching? I have an ex-teacher friend who does adult tutoring now but again this is evening hours which is not great when you have school age DC.

Zippidydoodah Tue 26-May-15 15:38:22