Talk

Advanced search

Relocating to South Devon, please help

(17 Posts)
user1497286055 Wed 14-Jun-17 22:48:32

Hello,
I am new to mumsnet. I do apologise for my user name which I still did not figure out how to change it.

My husband has a job opportunity in Paignton. I have read quite a bit of negative comments about Paignton and not sure if it is right place for us.
We have 2 daughters aged 6 and 9 and we live in Reading. I do not drive and before I got married lived in London. Originally I am from Prague, my husband is English. I loved living in London and Prague and took me a long time to get used to Reading as I founded quite small. I always liked the idea living by the sea so I am excited but at the same time very nervous about lots of things mainly about my children settling in their new school and I know by me not driving might be a big issue.

I quite like the look of Totnes as I have read it is a bit quirky, but I think it might be a bit expensive for us and it does not have the sea.

My contender so far I think is Teignmouth from what I read, but I am a bit worried that it might be too far for my husband to commute ever day to Paignton.

Please can anybody tell me how long would it take approximately from Teignmouth to Paignton nearby South Devon College??

I have read that the traffic in Torbay is very bad in the summer. Is it really bad and would it help that my husband would drive only to South Devon College and not near the seafront where the worse traffic is I assume. Or am I wrong? On google it says that Paignton is 27 minutes away but how it is in reality? Driving during the week in the rush hour? Is it worse during the week or weekends?

I would appreciate any advice, comment or suggestion about other towns nearby that are safe for children.

Thank you very much for any help

ineedaholidaynow Wed 14-Jun-17 22:59:38