Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you need help urgently, please see our domestic violence webguide and/or relationships webguide, which can point you to expert advice and support.

my dh's attitude to me and with ds is concerning me

(17 Posts)
allok Wed 07-Oct-09 20:50:13

Sorry if this is a bit garbled but I'm a newbie here.

been with dh for many many years. relationship has gone to pot and we have a young ds.

dh from overseas and yes although cultural differences I come from a very multicultural background so very had few issues and stupidly accommodated their needs - however many years on I feel duped - as dh lives my country - a country he seems to hate and despise 0 since birth of our litle one ils have been nothing but shite. His family are no. 1 and they seem to not want my family involved in our lives at all.

ds is now 3.5 - he thinks of himself as a national of dh's country - dh will say things to ds about me so that ds starts to say things about me that are not nice - not big things - but things in the schenme of things are not great and come from dh - my mil came over to stay and the first day I came back from work dh and mil had taught ds to say something horrbile about me and got him to say it. I think that's awful why can't they teach him love or positive things.

I thought the deal was was that we'd stay together for ds but with that comes rules of mutual respect - if not I think that ds will suffer anyway. dh won't play ball - ok some of the time but I seem to do all the work and he just then kicks me in the teeth when not expecting it.

I would leave but I have been threatened that I'd never see ds again and they'd go abroad and that would be that. He's made it very clear that he wants to live like this - he's not happy either - but won't make an effort and if I make moves to seperate than I get threatened.