Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you need help urgently, please see our domestic violence webguide and/or relationships webguide, which can point you to expert advice and support.

My trust in him is spiralling down, what can I do?

(90 Posts)
ChangedIdentity Wed 30-Sep-09 11:48:22

The past month or two has shown me I am losing faith and trust in my DP. Talking between the two of us doesn't help. He doesn't understand where I'm coming from, nor what my point is. He tends to jump to the wrong conclusion, so this often causes unnecessary arguements. I feel I can't speak to him about issues anymore as it gets us nowhere and just causes more tension than there already is.

I have considered Relate, but we can't afford it really (I'm a student, DP works, but we struggle enough as it is each month). I don't know if DP would even go for it, as I'm not sure he even sees we have a problem. He doesn't talk to me like I want him to, and I just feel a bit trapped. I'm not sure what other avenues we could try? Any advice would be greatly appreciated. How have other people regained trust?

ChangedIdentity Wed 30-Sep-09 18:30:07

Bump in case anyone has any advice for me. Thanks.

Aussieng Wed 30-Sep-09 18:54:01

It sounds as if you have some communications problems but I don't really uderstand why the issue is a "trust" one tbh unless the things he is jumping to conclusions about are trust issues? If he jumps to the wrong conclusions can't you just explain that he is wrong - or do you "react" and then end up arguing?

I think more people need to understand that in a relationship where one person thinks there is a problem -then there is a problem. That is not something which requires agreement from your DP and you need to trust yourself on this.

HappyWoman Wed 30-Sep-09 18:56:07

why is it a trust issue - what has he done to make you lose your trust in him.