Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you need help urgently, please see our domestic violence webguide and/or relationships webguide, which can point you to expert advice and support.

How to make my DH step up??

(7 Posts)
Kopparbergkate Mon 22-Jun-09 09:41:29

We're moving house atm (friday is actual move day) and I've just found out that dh told the movers/packers not to worry about talking to the council re parking - "we" would sort it out. Thing is, he hasn't, we've run out of visitors permits and I just don't have time (or tbh inclination) to sort it out now.

This is the last straw, he's done v little for the move and what he has done has been discreet tasks that I've listed for him and checked that he's done. I feel like I'm supervising his homework!!

I am a part time student/SAHM and in the last month I've done the first part of my finals and my gmum has been diagnosed with terminal cancer. She's not expected to last more than a few weeks so I've been visiting her in the hospice every day (2 hour round trip drive + visit time).

I just feel like my head is exploding with all the organizing - how do I get DH to help and do more THINKING??

In the past I have been the one who organizes everything and I've managed but I feel like I'm clinging on by my fingernails here.

warthog Mon 22-Jun-09 10:59:07

you've got to tell him he'd better get his act sorted out. he's not a fucking child. tell him to engage brain and that if he sees something that needs doing then JUST DO IT. this means ORGANIZE THE PARKING, and whatever else you want him to do.

but the sad reality is that he is not going to change overnight and unfortunately he probably does need a list of things to do.

Kopparbergkate Mon 22-Jun-09 12:19:13