Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you need help urgently, please see our domestic violence webguide and/or relationships webguide, which can point you to expert advice and support.

what would you do, need your input please...

(17 Posts)
Donbean Tue 22-Feb-05 09:05:06

Dh is a lecturer but was a mechanic by trade. He always services and fixes family cars and until we had DS it was an irritation to him but not a problem.9fixing cars not DS!)
The problem is that he doesnt like to say no to any one and never has done.
He does the work on these cars on his mums drive, in the freezing cold, pissing rain, gets wet, freezing and can take all day if its a big job. For this he says to them all "just give me 10,20 or 30 quid". He knows that money is short for alot of them.
He has to do them on his days off, usually weekend and now i work every weekend.
So 1) He doesnt spend any time with DS because he has to hand him over to his mum while he works on these cars,
2) I dont get to see him because invariably these people all need their cars tomorow so he will do them when im at home.
This has really pissed me off this time because my mum rang saying that her car wont start and she has got someone to look at it (because DH couldnt get to it till weekend) and this person has told her that it will cost £150 labour before parts are even bought. She wont pay this.
I have tried to explain to people over and over about our circumstances but they dont listen and dont take it into consideration at all.
To top off my mother commented "well if you cant ask family, who can you ask?" so now i feel like a complete bitch for getting fed up with it all.
He is going on Saturday, our only day off together this week to look at it.
My question is, how can we tactfully start to stop this carry on?
Dh is very fed up with it too, and feels taken for granted.