Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you need help urgently, please see our domestic violence webguide and/or relationships webguide, which can point you to expert advice and support.

Mother in Law Hell !

(28 Posts)
Harrysmom Thu 13-Jan-05 14:34:05

Since my DS was born, the MIL hasn't has a good word to say about the way Im bringing him up! (and Im putting my heart and soul into it) Critisism and comparing to her daughter are getting me down. Im not very good with words though, and never know what to say at the right moment (without causing a family ruck) apart from P off has anyone got any ideas how I can politely tell her to lay off me!!

wordsmith Thu 13-Jan-05 14:37:07

Just say something like 'thank you for your advice, but he's my son, and I'm the one bringing him up". I had to say something similar to my (now dearly departed) MIL. You have to stand up to her and make her realise that whatever she says, You're the mummy! It's a difficult relationahip though, I don't know any MIL/SIL relationships that are totally trouble free, esp when babies come along. Good luck!

nailpolish Thu 13-Jan-05 15:14:42

my MIL used to say things like 'its not like it used to be' then one day when i asked her if she knew how to use the steriliser she gave me a dirty look and said 'of course, things havent changed that much'.

she also used to critise the fact that i never dressed dd in the horrible old fashioned cardigans she used to knit.

its a nightmare, i know, but just smile and say 'thank you, but we are doing just fine'

sadly, my MIL has recently died and i miss her nagging.

makes no sense!

nailpolish Thu 13-Jan-05 15:16:30

comparisons are the worst and totally unnecesary. put it to her straight that you dont feel comparisons are appropriate, and thats its unfair on the children. she will not have an answer to that, and deep down she will hopefully agree with you