Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you need help urgently, please see our domestic violence webguide and/or relationships webguide, which can point you to expert advice and support.

How to win the trust back - please read

(35 Posts)
magentastights Thu 09-Nov-17 18:13:19

I’ve been seeing a man for four months after coming out of a six year relationship. My ex begged to see me last Monday night, stupidly I agreed and he ended up staying here. We didn’t have sex or go anywhere near each other. I’ve been so stupid - now new man says he can’t trust me and he doesn’t know if it’s fixable. We are still talking, I’m hoping it’s going to be ok.
I’ve never done anything like this before and I’m devastated that I’ve potentially ruined something good. Can anyone help me with how to gain his trust back? I’m so sad

userxx Thu 09-Nov-17 18:39:46

You can't do anything. It's up to him if you he wants to continue with you. Tell him you're sorry, then leave him while he decides what to do.

PNGirl Thu 09-Nov-17 18:41:40

You can't do anything but I think changing your number and blocking your ex on any email or social media would certainly help.

Justmuddlingalong Thu 09-Nov-17 18:43:19

I agree. There's nothing you can do, except give him space to decide what he wants to do. Incidentally, your ex sounds like he's playing mind games. Try not to fall for his 'begging' in future.

BrandNewHouse Thu 09-Nov-17 18:47:00

I’d be careful if he came back too quick actually OP. You might find he quite like that stick you’ve given him to beat you with.

magentastights Thu 09-Nov-17 18:52:50

Never thought of it like that Brandnewhouse.
Thanks for the insight 🌹

CoyoteCafe Thu 09-Nov-17 18:56:55

It's a 4 month relationship and he's all freaked out about you NOT having sex with someone else? And this is after being forth coming about how you spent Monday night?