Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you need help urgently, please see our domestic violence webguide and/or relationships webguide, which can point you to expert advice and support.

Mother in law issues. Who does not have it?

(107 Posts)
Nadiff Sun 15-Oct-17 22:52:06

Hi everyone. Its my first time here.. So i was having problems with my MIL. We dont get along very well. We dont hate eachother but personally i find her extremely overbearing. So i thought I'll look up the internet for some advice or read stories of DILS in similar situation. What i found, dumbfounded me. Hundreds of websites and blogs and forum over how women hate their mils. Or MILS hate their Dils. Its a nightmare out there where in most cases the mother eventually ends up loosing her son. And no consideration is given to the fact that the DIL might be wrong as well. Now, after reading all that, I am wondering if there is anyone, anyone at all who get along with their inlaws. Im not asking for pure love, but managing a civil polite relationship would do. All i read was how DILS got offended and had their husbands give their mums a bashing. Is it really like this? Even if i dont like seeing my MIL , i would never stop my husband or my kids from seeing her or cause a fight between them. Shes his mum!!. Ive asked a lot of questions in one post but im really for thoughts and experiences over what do you do with your Mil when you dont get along with her and does anyone ever get along with her at all!!
Thanks for reading.

minipie Sun 15-Oct-17 22:54:01

Well people who get on with their MILs tend not to post on blogs or forums about it because they don't have a problem confused.

I get on well with my MIL.

HirplesWithHaggis Sun 15-Oct-17 22:56:02

I've had the same MIL for over 30 years and we still speak. grin OK, we're not incredibly close but we tolerate each other well enough.

AndNoneForGretchenWieners Sun 15-Oct-17 22:57:03