Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you need help urgently, please see our domestic violence webguide and/or relationships webguide, which can point you to expert advice and support.

Counsellors talking too much

(29 Posts)
Haciendak Wed 11-Oct-17 14:19:22

I've had several counsellors over the years, the best being from mental health services such as Mind and bereavement services. They were always excellent.
I've come to realise that I am always going to benefit from having a consistent counsellor in my life, which can not be offered by these services, my prevention rather than cure approach.
So I've been exploring BACS approved private counsellors for a Few years now, but I always come across the same issue: private counsellors talk too much. I never get to the depth of my issues as I'm cut off regularly by their own long winded stories and I watch the clock as my time and money ticks away. I have tried maybe 4 private counsellors and discovered the same issues with each, putting me off trying any more, also I find it difficult to then muscle out of the sessions once I've seen them a few times.
I'd love to have long term reliable support from a private counsellors that I can see regularly but I'm becoming very dis-heartened.
Why are they all talking at me so much? Is it because I'm young and they think they can fix things with stories from their own lives? It seems to have become a regular problem, one I never experienced with established services.

2rebecca Wed 11-Oct-17 14:35:16

I think a lot of inappropriate people go in to counselling who think counselling has helped them so they will help others and they aren't properly taught to shut up as they aren't the patient now.
If you're paying for the sessions then you should tell them they are talking too much. They probably just aren't properly trained though, the private health sphere is much less regulated than the NHS.