Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you need help urgently, please see our domestic violence webguide and/or relationships webguide, which can point you to expert advice and support.

I'm confused

(7 Posts)
Madhousemam Mon 25-Sep-17 18:31:00

Hello this is my first time I have posted on hear I'm so sorry to trouble you all just a quick question what in simple terms are the signs of a narcissistic (sp) please

CoyoteCafe Mon 25-Sep-17 18:34:26

There is a good web site called Out of the fog. Lots of info there.

Madhousemam Mon 25-Sep-17 18:35:41

Thank you I'll look that up I have had a scan through the Internet but it was a little confusing

CoyoteCafe Tue 26-Sep-17 02:16:18

Here is a link to the page on Out of the Fog that is specifically about NPD (Narcissistic Personality Disorder).
outofthefog.website/personality-disorders-1/2015/12/6/narcissistic-personality-disorder-npd

Here is the definition from the DSM:

A pervasive pattern of grandiosity (in fantasy or behavior), need for admiration, and lack of empathy, beginning by early adulthood and present in a variety of contexts, as indicated by five (or more) of the following:
- has a grandiose sense of self-importance (e.g., exaggerates achievements and talents, expects to be recognized as superior without commensurate achievements)
- is preoccupied with fantasies of unlimited success, power, brilliance, beauty, or ideal love
- believes that he or she is "special" and unique and can only be understood by, or should associate with, other special or high-status people (or institutions)
- requires excessive admiration
- has a sense of entitlement, i.e., unreasonable expectations of especially favorable treatment or automatic compliance with his or her expectations
- is interpersonally exploitative, i.e., takes advantage of others to achieve his or her own ends
- lacks empathy: is unwilling to recognize or identify with the feelings and needs of others