Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you need help urgently, please see our domestic violence webguide and/or relationships webguide, which can point you to expert advice and support.

Trying to move on from my affair

(34 Posts)
LaceyRose Wed 20-Sep-17 15:08:08

So I'm new to Mumsnet and wanted to post on here to see if anyone has any advice or has been through a similar situation and how to go about repairing things. I know some people will think my behaviour is awful and believe me I agree but everyone makes mistakes so I hope someone out there can help.

I've been with DH for 12 years, we have two DS. Last year I had a bit of a fling with a younger guy. We never actually slept together but it went further than kissing. At the time, things between me and DH were very bad and I was extremely unhappy - I tried for over a year to explain to him how unhappy I was but he didn't get it as he was content with our relationship. Anyway, we ended up separating for 4-5 months and then going to marriage counselling to try to fix things.

In the end we decided to give it another go and initially he made loads of effort but it's kind of slid back to how it was and I feel we are lacking that connection. Maybe I am naive to expect that after so many years but it's something I really would like us to have.

I feel so guilty about what I have done as DH would be so upset and angry and probably divorce me! At the same time my self esteem is on the floor from this other guy who didn't treat me well (no more than I deserve). I just want to feel better and try and to fix my marriage - I feel like I don't know whether to end it because of the fling as if we were truly happy I wouldn't have gone there?

I know I'm in the wrong but any advice would be great as I feel so unsettled.

Thanks

hellsbellsmelons Wed 20-Sep-17 15:15:40

You need to free yourself of the burden of guilt.