Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you need help urgently, please see our domestic violence webguide and/or relationships webguide, which can point you to expert advice and support.

Maternity Pay

(22 Posts)
Smithysue Wed 12-Jul-17 08:20:43

Hi, I am new to this but really need some advice, I work full time for a company in Harrow, I have worked for them for almost 3 years, however in June i found another job, more pay better hours, I gave in my notice and left to start my new job, on my first day I found out I was pregnant and apart from that I really hated my job, I didn't tell any one i was pregnant, only my husband, I gave my new job a couple of days but it was awful, I also knew that I would not get SMP so i called my old boss and asked if i could return back to them and he agreed and welcomed me back.
I thought i was sorted then because i would not of got maternity pay my new employers but because i had worked for this company for almost 3 years then they would have to pay me, but HR have said that my service has been broken even though it was only 4 blooming days, they say my notice was handed in and i had left, I have not told them yet i am pregnant as i was hoping they would just put the break down as holidays and not me leaving.
I am worried now that I wont get SMP as you have to have worked for your employer continuously for 20 weeks before the 15 weeks before your due date, can anyone please advise me on this, many thanks

YerAWizardHarry Wed 12-Jul-17 08:22:27

You can claim maternity allowance from the government instead it's the same amount

Orangebird69 Wed 12-Jul-17 08:24:30

No, you won't get SMP. I'm a bit hmm that you thought you would tbh. You should qualify for Maternity Allowance though.

LIZS Wed 12-Jul-17 08:24:48