Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you need help urgently, please see our domestic violence webguide and/or relationships webguide, which can point you to expert advice and support.

Marriage in crisis

(41 Posts)
Sparkleback2017 Sat 22-Apr-17 15:42:43

Hi everyone, this is my first time posting online looking for support before trying couples counselling. I have been married for 14 years and with my husband since we were 15. We have 2 beautiful boys but our hearts are breaking right now and we don't know what to do. We have always argued / bickered and life isn't perfect but we love each other and can't imagine life not together. Long story short, 7 years ago he lashed out at me after a heavy night drinking. I wasn't entirely innocent as said some horrible things to him after being resentful for a while. No visible damage so no one ever knew. Since then he suffered with depression and has been on medication, unable to live with what he did. 2 days ago we argued (again after a few drinks). We can never seem to see each other's points of view so after me upsetting him verbally he walked away. I followed as had to go to the station to get home. He tried walking away from me several times but I wouldn't let him. In my (drunken) mind I was trying to resolve the situation, feeding my own needs instead of considering his. As a result he hit me once just under my chin. No pain or bruising just shock, but it has devastated us both, leaving us in tears & feeling like there is no way back from here. We are looking at our children and can't believe how badly we behaved and feel like the worst parents in the world despite them not having a clue what's happened. I know what he's done is inexcusable and no one could hate him more than he hates himself right now. We love each other but don't know where to turn. I suggested counselling but I'm reading so many bad reviews online. He thinks we should go our separate ways but I