Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you need help urgently, please see our domestic violence webguide and/or relationships webguide, which can point you to expert advice and support.

How to keep things professional?

(11 Posts)
DailyMailArseCockWank Thu 20-Apr-17 21:25:58

I have just started working in a new team within my company. I've been working for the company for several years but my new role requires me to work very closely with another colleague: long hours; overtime, some weekend work, etc. I knew this colleague before but didn't really have much dealing with him on a day to day basis. Now we often do 11, 12 hour days as we have a lot of dealings with another office abroad so often work late.

I am really enjoying the job but I'm worried that I may be inadvertently overstepping the mark with my male colleague. Both of us are married (and I am very much in love with my husband and would never dream of cheating on him) but in recent weeks I've got the odd feeling my colleague may see me in more than just a work light. I'm actually not one to blow my own trumpet, so sorry if I appear arrogant, and I certainly don't think I'm pretty but in the last few weeks some things have made me feel uncomfortable, not least because I think if his wife could hear or see some of the comments, jokes he makes etc she wouldn't like it. He is a bit older than me and has often made allusions to finding family life stressful and one which doesn't come naturally to him. I avoid responding to such comments and change the subject/make non-committal comments before refocusing on work.