Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you need help urgently, please see our domestic violence webguide and/or relationships webguide, which can point you to expert advice and support.

Questioning the safety of my ex husbands driving

(6 Posts)
Petalpower16 Sun 09-Apr-17 19:35:38

Apologies if the is on the wrong thread. It is my first time posting but I would love advice from others as I'm worried my opinion is jaded and too close to the issue to be rational.

I am concerned over my ex husbands driving.

A number of times my kids have commented that they feel their dad has road rage and his driving has been unsafe.

This weekends visit I received 2 texts from both my children about an incident with his driving.

My son had forgotten something and asked my dad to go back for it before coming home. He turned the car round and headed back at speed. During a tight bend the rear end of the vehicle skidded and screeched. Then he had to hard swing the car back in to avoid an oncoming car.
Kids are 12 and 13 so we're old enough to speak to him about it when they pulled in at KFC
When I confronted him when he dropped them home he said that it was due to a dusty road, he hadn't even angry or aggressive and they had both over reacted and were fine once they'd chatted about it.

I quoted back to him one of the comments made and said that they felt unsafe to the point that they didn't want to be out with him if he drove like that.

As usual he accepted no responsibility.

Having chatted with both kids since being home they have both said his driving is very different when his partner is in the car and that neither of them want to be in the car when he is driving, but are fine if it's her driving.

My biggest concern is i want them to follow this decision through if this is how they feel, otherwise they shouldn't make empty threats to him.

This isn't the first time the kids have been concerned with his driving.