Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you need help urgently, please see our domestic violence webguide and/or relationships webguide, which can point you to expert advice and support.

Any advice appreciated

(6 Posts)
Londonheartbreak15 Wed 05-Apr-17 18:42:33

I'm totally new to Mumsnet, I'm not a mum nor have I ever been married, but I've gone through a really tough breakup recently and found some interesting stuff on here so thought I'd turn to the forum for advice. I'm 34 and came out of a three and a half year relationship about a year ago.
Now being out of the shock and loss of it all, I've got a bit more perspective so thought I'd share for any pearls of wisdom out there.

My ex had been falling deeper into depression that resulted in pretty reckless behaviour on his part. The depressed part I was able to deal with, helped him into therapy and was as supportive as I could be. A big symptom was excessive drinking which resulted in him doing really uncharacterised things, like gambling on his own after a night out, when all of his mates had gone home. One night, a year before we broke up, he got totally drunk and ended up in a brothel having a blow job from a prostitute. He was desperately ashamed and told me about it 3 days later, totally breaking down. I thought he had hit rock bottom so I stayed with him after a week apart and helped him through and he started going to therapy. The months after were horrific for me and it took me 10 months before I started to trust him again. Then, a year ago it happened again. I'd said that if it ever happened again, I would leave, and I did. He told me about it again after 3 days, likely knowing I would leave, but couldn't keep it from me.