Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you need help urgently, please see our domestic violence webguide and/or relationships webguide, which can point you to expert advice and support.

Revolving our lives around relationships?

(4 Posts)
perfumeriagal Tue 04-Apr-17 13:12:47

I am in my late 30s now and have been with my husband since by late teens. It wasn't always easy and in my 20's I struggled with trying to balance persuing some of my dreams with being commited to my relationships. There were decisions I made regarding my career and my life that would have been different if I had been single in my 20s and early 30s. I did do certain things but it was a compromise i.e. I studied for my masters in London (I'm from Edinburgh) rather than abroad as I would have ideally liked. I dropped out of one more full on, better paid career into another more slow paced, self employed type of work because the pervious job was putting too much strain on my relationship. There were other reasons as well it was too fast paced for me and not as creative has I had hoped but I still ultimately put my relationship first and to be fair he has always done the same i.e. he gave up a great job in the middle east when I was unable to settle there.

I have friends who did the opposite who stayed single or had short term relationships in their 20's and 30's either by fluke or design. They often had more freedom to persue oppertunities and a few are very successful now.

I am happy with my life, I love my husband and I know I made the right choice for me putting us first over my personal ambitions and I still feel like I do good creative work and that I have a really nice work / life balance. Its a very quiet, stable life and I have a lot to be grateful for but I'm also very average and nothing I do will be remembered.