Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you need help urgently, please see our domestic violence webguide and/or relationships webguide, which can point you to expert advice and support.

Women don't make good leaders....

(66 Posts)
BantyCustards Sun 26-Feb-17 08:43:16

...because the Egyptian empire fell under Cleopatra's rule.

Help me respond to this - it's been bugging me for weeks now. I'm not very good at 'arguing' with someone - have been conditioned to keep my mouth shut or suffer the consequences over the years.

This little gem has come from a man I've been dating for several weeks now and all in all he seems to tick all the boxes but this comment - I just can't let it go and want to discuss it with him.

rumred Sun 26-Feb-17 08:45:53

Men make terrible leaders - look at Hitler, mussolini, stalin, atilla the hun etc

rumred Sun 26-Feb-17 08:46:48

Oh and what a twatty sexist comment. Is he not very bright?

PurpleDaisies Sun 26-Feb-17 08:47:21

I agree with rum.

Donald trump?

ameliameerkat Sun 26-Feb-17 08:47:49

Wow, I wouldn't be dating him any more, that's for sure!!!

PurpleDaisies Sun 26-Feb-17 08:48:05

I'd be finding out very quickly if he's a misogynist and getting rid very quickly if he is.

RosaDeZoett Sun 26-Feb-17 08:48:51

I wouldn't even dignify that with a response. Tell him the true warrior engages only a worthy opponent. And then dump himsmile

BantyCustards Sun 26-Feb-17 08:49:13

Why didn't I think of that at the time? Whenever someone (who is important to me or has some sort of power over me) says something that I disagree with I just clam up.

I'm not stupid , am considered intelligent but when faced with a situation that could potentially 'offend' someone I just seem to lose all ability to think logically and say something in response.

hareinthemoon Sun 26-Feb-17 08:52:50