Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you need help urgently, please see our domestic violence webguide and/or relationships webguide, which can point you to expert advice and support.

single mum desperate for some advice....

(17 Posts)
princesscake Wed 15-Feb-17 19:46:52

I am a student nurse with 2 Dd's 10 and 12 years. I decided to go back to school when my husband left 5 years ago. It's been a struggle working whilst studying and now full time work as well as training.
My girls dad doesn't have any input what so ever. He picks them up 2 Sundays in a month and takes them to his mum's and watches football the whole time. Very sad but that's another story but partly why I'm posting.
My eldest Dd is over weight and she often gets called names. She doesnt have a best friend and doesnt like going to school. Her weight has gradually gone on over the last 3 years. I have been so busy trying to better myself to better our life, keep our home I didn't notice until all of a sudden she is now over weight.
Her dad brings this up with her and often critisises what she wears. I don't have much money to buy her the 'in' clothes. Again I feel guilty.
What I am hoping from posting is some advice on how to fit in exercise with her aswell as full time work, study and housework. I'm exhausted to the point of crying all the way home from work just wanting to throw it all away because my dd needs my time but i hAve a mort gage to pay and i have worked so hard to get inot uni. Any advice would be appreciated. I feel so sad as she is so sad.

Proseccoisthenewlambrini Wed 15-Feb-17 19:55:48

That must be really difficult for you, it sounds like you are doing an amazing job though please stop blaming yourself, it's bloody hard being both parents!

Does she not enjoy any after school activities?