Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you need help urgently, please see our domestic violence webguide and/or relationships webguide, which can point you to expert advice and support.

He wont let me see my step child.

(14 Posts)
BIBI321 Thu 02-Feb-17 16:14:23

A little back ground (and sorry, im new to looking at your threads so i dont really understand the short terms for partners/children ect.. yet)..
I was with my ex for 10 years.
He had a little boy with his ex who was 4 when we met, i was 17. (Child now 14).

My ex had full custody. His mother has had very little contact in the last 10 years.
She had other children/married. Literally forgot her poor boy.
This is where I stepped in. And we had a great family life and home. I became mum with duties but also love. He's my baby.
Im sure i dont have to explain everything, but i treated him like my own.
I unfortunately am unable to have my own children due to health problems so this kid gave me so much too..
Fast forward 10 years and my ex cheated on me. Several times, with the same woman.
I had to leave. There was no way i would stand for that. As far as i knew we were fine. Hardly argued, still having great sex and fun with eachother.. it came totally out of the blue. He blamed being drunk.. which he always is so how could i ever trust him again? Fuck that.
Ive set myself up well. I have a good job, found a nice flat.. deliberately looked for 2 beds for my boy to stay.
Am i stupid in thinking i could still see him and be his mum?
Obviously i knew he wouldn't live with me but i did think id still have him in my life.
My ex says im crazy. He's not my child. He's cut me out completely. I think he's mad i wouldnt forgive him? And annoyed that i actually easily sorted myself out without him.
He's cruel and sarcastic with me. Laughed in my face like im an idiot for asking to see the boy..