Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you need help urgently, please see our domestic violence webguide and/or relationships webguide, which can point you to expert advice and support.

Single mum starting to date

(4 Posts)
user1485892862 Tue 31-Jan-17 20:19:38

Sorry if I'm in the wrong place, or if this question has already been asked, I'm new to this and don't have a lot of people around me i can talk to so here goes...

I'm a single mum to my gorgeous 3 year old boy and I'm currently attempting to date but wondering how other people manage. Although I'm still on great terms with my ex, he only has our son for a full weekend once every 4 to 6 weeks and that's it. Although I have attempted to get him to have him more he lives around 50 miles away, and works weird shifts (same job as when we were together) so he only gets one full weekend every one in 4 to 6 weeks. Im kind of seeing a guy (kind of as its proving very difficult!) who doesn't have kids. He asks to see me evenings during the week, but I'm basically tied to my house once ds is in bed (around 7) and the same at weekends. I have family around me but they have their own children and i just feel bad asking people to watch ds just so that i can go and see a guy, if that makes sense? Ds is my number one priority, but when i try to explain that I'm not someone who can just leave their kid with anyone, and i only trust a handful of people, i feel like I'm making excuses. I really want to start going out but after being used to just depending on myself and no one else i feel like I'm asking people too much to watch him. It would only ever be for one or maybe two nights a week if that, which i guess on the grand scheme of things isn't bad but i feel awful for even considering it and having a whinge about it.