Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you need help urgently, please see our domestic violence webguide and/or relationships webguide, which can point you to expert advice and support.

OLD - long distance question

(12 Posts)
Livinginhope11 Wed 04-Jan-17 08:21:12

So I have stepped into the OLD arena... had to be done really but this is my first time so very new to me.
Im in my early 50's and live in a fairly rural area so chances of meeting anyone in the old fashioned way are fairly remote.

I have found someone I really click with but he is around 150 miles away.. we have had long chats but really the next step is to meet.
How does this work and apart from the obvious, not meeting in a dark alley/being where other people are etc, what do I do??
Is long distance feasible?
Sorry if these seem stupid questions, just not sure of anything about this OLD stuff! Thanks

PaterPower Wed 04-Jan-17 08:39:14

150 miles? That's going to take you 2.5 - 3 hours each way to see each other.

It's not going to work long term, imo, unless you're both happy that the physical side (and by that I mean the amount of time you spend together, as much as I do your sex life) is far less important to you both than the remote contact / chatting.

I was dating someone that lived 40 mins away from me and THAT was bad enough, although we both had young kids to fit the time together around.

Hotwaterbottle1 Wed 04-Jan-17 09:07:14

I disagree with the pp. I am seeing someone who lives 200 miles away. It's not easy but we both want to make it work and so far so good. I would not rule it out but you won't know until you meet him. I met mine online and first date was in a hotel bar for drinks so very safe & public.

Sptownmama Wed 04-Jan-17 09:12:38

When i met my partner he lived over 2000 miles away 😄 we've been together 8 years now.

Livinginhope11 Wed 04-Jan-17 09:48:33

ok thanks.