Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you need help urgently, please see our domestic violence webguide and/or relationships webguide, which can point you to expert advice and support.

Absent family playing on my mind

(5 Posts)
user1481316801 Fri 09-Dec-16 21:04:35

Hello Mumsnetters!
I'm new to Mumsnet but I thought this would be the perfect place to ask for advice from others who might be in a similar situation.
Basically when my daughter was born just over a year ago my family came to see her, unfortunately my family are unable to be civil even in this scenario and so after a 48 hr stint in labour my sister in particular insisted on being rude to my Dad and my Mum didn't even show up. This made my blood boil on what should have been the happiest day of my life, so a few weeks later I told them so, I told them that they way they acted was not ok and had really upset myself and my Dad.
Hardly to my surprise as we had an on off relationship anyway both my mum and my sister then distanced themselves from me completely and turned a lot of my family against me even though all I asked was that they were civil in front of my young daughter to avoid dragging her down with family politics at such a young age!
Since then I have heard nothing, not a peep from either of them, until my Mum posted a photo of my daughter from her first birthday on her public social network page, which I am blocked from seeing (my partner isn't)
Anyway, now that a year has passed I am beginning to feel guilty, they have missed a year of my daughter's life, my partner doesn't think I should feel guilty and doesn't believe either of them deserve a second chance after all they have chosen to keep their distance and say silent.
Am I doing the right thing giving them space? Has anyone else found it difficult to stay estranged from close immediate members?
Thanks in advance ladies! Looking forward to hearing your advice/ stories smile