Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you need help urgently, please see our domestic violence webguide and/or relationships webguide, which can point you to expert advice and support.

Can this really happen or is it just in films?

(23 Posts)
Livinginhope11 Sun 06-Nov-16 22:32:36

Hi everyone, Im new to this so hello!

Im in my early 50's, been divorced 3 years now after long marriage to a scary narcissist.
Life is good now, I have friends, my own business, go out and try new things/places, but more and more just lately I've begun to feel a bit lonely but all the men I have met so far (not many) just seem to want to be looked after, cooked for with very little effort on their part. So off they go with a goodbye from me! Sod that!!

Is it possible at my age to meet someone who will do things for me because they want to, just a simple bunch of flowers or cup of tea in bed, or do these things only happen in romantic films??
Is it too late to hope for some passion and romance?

Does online dating really work? Is it a good place to start?
Thanks for reading, looks a bit sad but Im not, just wondering in a world that has changed so much since I last did any dating (30 years ago!)

jeaux90 Sun 06-Nov-16 22:38:15

My ex was a narc too. Congrats for finding your freedom grin. I'm 45 single parent and yes OLD is quite fun. Met some good guys, some turned into good friends. I know plenty of people who have met lovely OH's online. I am dating someone at the moment actually who is fab!! Taking it slow (I am crazily independant) you go for it !! Xxx

HolyshitIfuckedupbigtime Sun 06-Nov-16 22:40:37

A cup of tea in bed? Yes it can happen, but only for the first few months grin.

Livinginhope11 Sun 06-Nov-16 22:44:50

Thats given me bit of hope, thank you.
I find it all a bit scary but suppose I just have to pull my big girl pants up and deal with it!
Which sites have you found best?

Livinginhope11 Sun 06-Nov-16 22:45:34