Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you need help urgently, please see our domestic violence webguide and/or relationships webguide, which can point you to expert advice and support.

how to be on your own in your thirties - struggling

(14 Posts)
whattodonowo010 Fri 04-Nov-16 11:32:24

Now I know that being in your thirties is not old. I am 34. 2 months ago, I was enganged, the wedding was planned and we had started to ttc when dp turned around to me and told me that all of this 'wasn't for him' and left. I am trying to keep busy, force myself to see friends etc. I have 3 very good friends, a handful of work aquaintances, but family is very far away. All my friends have long term partners, or are married with children. They disappear into their families over the weekend or holidays (I am a teacher so quite a bit of free time).

I am not ready to enter the dating scene or attend single events, so what do I do? Where do I meet people? I am not very outgoing and like my home comforts. I know people say do a new hobby but at the end of the day I will just be going home alone anyway...

Do I just need to give myself a kick?

Pooky77 Fri 04-Nov-16 11:48:46

No need for kicking! I've been there it's scary to find yourself single at an age where you didn't expect it and if you have just come out of a long term relationship it feels like everything has changed from when you were last single.

From my experience i was lucky enough to be introduced to a couple of single ladies around my age by a married friend, this gave me a great social life and expanded my social circle got me out of the house and out of my comfort zone. I also reconnected with an old friend from school who i'd guessed was single from her facebook posts.