Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you need help urgently, please see our domestic violence webguide and/or relationships webguide, which can point you to expert advice and support.

Not sure if I'm damaged and mad, or he's a bit dodgy

(21 Posts)
dilys4trevor Mon 17-Oct-16 22:21:01

Hello all. After some advice as I don't know if I am too damaged for a relationship, or if my boyfriend really is a bit iffy.

My husband killed himself in January after an affair (and some other problems). We had been splitting up for a while when it happened and I decided to take the plunge with online dating after 6 months.

I met a bloke I really liked quite fast and he was lovely and we had a great time. I know it all sounds a bit fast but after a month or two he said he was in love with me and we met each other's children and have had a lovely time (please don't judge on the meeting children thing; I'm a total novice at this and because I'm a lone parent and it's just me entirely (I have three young ones), it was much easier to see each other with our respective kids and he is great with mine and clearly a good dad with his son).

Anyway, we have had a few ups and downs already and some of this is him and some of it is me overreacting (I definitely have suicidal/unfaithful husband baggage).

But, a while back he said he was going to meet up with a woman he had met online a few years ago who had gotten back in touch. He said he had told her he was loved up with me but was going to have dinner with her as friends. My worry was they had never been friends as such; from what I could make out it was a short lived romance that she ended. I said I wasn't comfortable and so he said he wouldnt go.