Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you need help urgently, please see our domestic violence webguide and/or relationships webguide, which can point you to expert advice and support.

Am I doing the right thing? Need advice...

(6 Posts)
user1475261579 Fri 30-Sep-16 20:11:35

Before I ramble on - I'm basically looking for any words of wisdom from people that have been there, done that with this smile

I split up with my boyfriend of 2.5yrs recently. We live together as we're both young and I'm in the area while I'm studying. He's gone back to visit his family for a short while (they live about 3-4hrs away) and I thought it was good as he needed support through this time and he doesn't have many people around him locally apart from me.
So I got back from work today and he's left me a note to say that he still loves him and wants us to be together, he will change etc. the usual.

The issue is and the reason I split up with him is that we have different goals. He's very sure he wants marriage and kids and I feel like I'm way too young to be thinking about that and to be honest, I'm not attracted to the thought of either. Aside from those reasons, which I accept could change, I may want kids and marriage several years down the line. He makes me feel bad for visiting my family. I finally managed to get him to visit my family after over 2yrs together recently and I was naturally excited to see them! He was less so.. he was grumpy all day before we went to see them and made sure I knew about it. He doesn't understand when I go and visit them as often as I can (every couple of months), although he doesn't have an awful relationship with his family. He stopped me seeing my friends from back home because he wasn't keen on it.
On the other hand, he says he loves me lots and he does things that would reflect that too. He cooks for me often and lets me watch what I want to on the tv even if he doesn't enjoy it. He gives me lots of affection.