Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you need help urgently, please see our domestic violence webguide and/or relationships webguide, which can point you to expert advice and support.

Mum is constantly "borrowing"; and stealing money, don't know what to do :(

(49 Posts)
MarbleFox Tue 12-Apr-16 18:03:34

So, I'm 21 and currently living with my mum. I'm a student and work 14 hours per week in a small clothes shop. I have a decent income but that's severely reduced by my travel costs which are over £300 monthly. I pay £35 a week to her which is an amount she suggested. I've offered her more in the past when I've known things are tight for her and I always try to give her extra when I can. For example, I gave her £100 of the £200 that had backdated into my account because I was overtaxed in my last job. For the most part, we have a good relationship and get along well but her "borrowing" and stealing is getting out of control.

Almost every week she asks to borrow money, normally between £30 - £50. I totally don't mind just giving her extra money occasionally but I can't afford this every week. In the past month I've lent her £200 and I now can't afford to pay my overdue phone bill until I get paid next Friday. I know you're probably thinking I should just say no but it's not that easy. If I say no she goes absolutely mad. Rants and screams that I'm selfish and I don't appreciate all that she's done for me, I do but I just can't afford to lend her money all the time. She also NEVER gives me back the money I lend her, it's the same story as above, I ask for the money back and she starts ranting and raving. It leads to a horrible atmosphere in the house for days.