Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you need help urgently, please see our domestic violence webguide and/or relationships webguide, which can point you to expert advice and support.

What to think - situation with a friend's widow

(20 Posts)
adviceneededhere Mon 04-Apr-16 12:43:47

I'm not sure if this is the right place to post this. It's not a 'couple' relationship issue but a friendship one. I'm quite new to Mumsnet and I couldn't find a more appropriate section for friendship issues, so I hope this is OK here.
Bit of a background story. I had a male friend who I met at University (over 25 years ago). He was one of my closest friends. There was never anything to the relationship other than a real, genuine good honest friendship. When we met, he had a girlfriend, who became his wife, so I have known her for just as long. I always stayed close to them as a family, and when I met my DH, he also became good friends with them. I am godmother to their 2 children, and he was godfather to my DS. Sadly, my friend passed away about 18 months ago. I stayed close to them throughout his illness, and was involved in the funeral etc. After he died, my friendship with his wife and their children continued and we saw each other fairly regularly (we live about an hour away, so it's not possible to just pop in).
For the last few months, however, she seems to have stopped contact. She never returns my calls or texts. We saw each other over Christmas and had a perfectly pleasant evening together and exchanged gifts for the kids. Since then, I haven't seen or heard from her. I sent one of my Godsons a card and gift for his birthday, but heard no thanks or anything. I've tried calling and texting, but have heard nothing.