Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you need help urgently, please see our domestic violence webguide and/or relationships webguide, which can point you to expert advice and support.

My wife is very unhappy

(76 Posts)
Goosed6669 Tue 02-Feb-16 14:11:41

Hi it was my wife's birthday the other day I got her a charm for her bracelet and a bag for her bike a bunch of flowers. The children made her a cake and bought cards and a birthday balloon. The older whom are all earning bought a bracelet the she was going to get as her other one was a bit big . On the day she came down to open her parcels . But unfortunately it was aparent that none of the things we got lived up to her expectations.
I said to her that I would take her out to lunch but that was brushed off . I am a crap cook but never the less tried to cook something it was a failure and nobody liked it. Then the children came through with the cake but that also was a disaster as the children used coconut oil in it rather than rapeseed oil and you could hardly cut it . The whole day was a disaster.
Now she is very unhappy and wants to leave , her birthday's have allways been a bit of a stumbling block as I am not good at buying the right things or making her feel valued. But she is the love of my life and we have 6 children and been together for over 20 year's .I don't know what to do ???

ShowYourSeams Tue 02-Feb-16 14:16:16

She wants to leave because she wasn't happy with all the effort that you and DC went to for her birthday?

Either there is a massive back story or she's completely ungrateful and high maintenance.

tingon Tue 02-Feb-16 14:19:13

There has to be more to the story, any woman with six kids cannot possibly be such a sensitive little flower.

KittyandTeal Tue 02-Feb-16 14:21:57

Nope, not buying that.

Absolutely no way a happy, healthy relationship with 6 kids would be wobbling after a few, not even that crap, birthday presents.