Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you need help urgently, please see our domestic violence webguide and/or relationships webguide, which can point you to expert advice and support.

The Assertiveness Thread!!

(42 Posts)
grundrisse Fri 11-Dec-15 08:40:57

OK, so I am not very good at assertiveness. I tend to end up in the camp of passive-aggressive or hostile. I am trying to improve my skills - I realise this is to do with practice.

One problem I have is that when something happens that really needs a response, I freeze. My mind goes blank and I panic. My PIL are extremely bullying and passive-aggressive and they use the pause to their advantage. So I am trying to get in training for Christmas by thinking through some likely scenarios an working out my response.

I am really hoping others want to join in with their own examples, for entirely selfish reasons! I think I can probably learn a lot from thinking through other situations as well. Please indulge me!! grin

grundrisse Fri 11-Dec-15 08:41:41

So, for example, my DH recently got an honour at work. He rang his mother to tell her, and in passing he said 'I couldn't have done it without Grund - she did loads of work on it'. MIL then instantly said 'Oh I bet you couldn't have done it without the cat either - I bought Grund a sign that says 'behind every great man is a great cat'. (She did. It is in the charity shop). For context, this is one in a long line of slightly patronising comments that diminish my contribution to the household and DH's life!

What's the best response if this happens to my face??

a. 'Ouch! I find that a bit hurtful'
b. 'Yes, the cat spent hours slaving over the proofreading and editing of the documents' (too PA?)
c. Ignore it
??

category12 Fri 11-Dec-15 08:52:12

There's a classic Mn line, something like "Do you know how rude that sounds?" that seems appropriate here.

thewookieswife Fri 11-Dec-15 08:56:50