We rely on advertising to keep the lights on.

Please consider adding us to your whitelist.

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you need help urgently, please see our domestic violence webguide and/or relationships webguide, which can point you to expert advice and support.

what can I say?

(9 Posts)
banox Mon 16-Nov-15 18:07:44

There has been a huge row which involves 2 of my siblings, their adult kids and my parents. So far I have only heard about it 2nd hand but have no idea what to say when one of those involved start to "tell me their side". I don't fit in with my family, never have and am usually the scapegoat. I am not good at saying what I think or standing up for myself. So I need a short response that I can use when needed that won't inflame people, will not give them a chance to pull me in (I'll end up the bad guy, I just know it), and wont make me look as if I am taking sides or don't care .

Fear and vulnerability always means I get stressed and my tone of voice doesn't help me stay aloof.

This is a serious matter and could, in fact probably will, escalate to the point where the authorities and possibly local newspapers take an jnterest so it's not going to go away. Can't give further details as it would definitely out me.

I would be so grateful for any advice.

ALaughAMinute Mon 16-Nov-15 18:26:53

As you don't fit in with your family, and never have, I would just tell them you want to stay out of it.

Get on with your life and forget about them, life is too short.

winkywinkola Mon 16-Nov-15 18:29:29

Can you just say you don't want to talk about it each time they bring it up? Be insistent and consistent with each of them. And if they insist, don't answer the telephone to any of them anymore.

Walkacrossthesand Mon 16-Nov-15 18:31:37