Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you need help urgently, please see our domestic violence webguide and/or relationships webguide, which can point you to expert advice and support.

Advice on way forward

(4 Posts)
maryp99 Tue 03-Nov-15 14:02:54

Hi

This is my first time posting on Mumsnet. But I don't feel I can talk to anyone in real life about this as feel disloyal to my husband. I suspect some people will think me shallow but here goes... We've been married ten years and together four years before that and have two children together. My husband can be quite a difficult man to live with but he also has a lot of good qualities and is basically a good man. We have been through difficult times together and come out the other side. The thing I am currently struggling with is our sex life, or lack of it. We've never had an amazing sex life but I don't think either of us has a very high sex drive and pre-children I think we were both ok with how things were. When the children were really little I was too tired to be bothered about it. Now they are a little older and I'm not tired all the time it is starting to bother me. I'm only 40 and the idea that this is it forever is getting me down. It's not that we never have sex but we can go months without and the truth of the matter is (and I feel awful admitting this) I just don't fancy him at all. He is very very overweight (I'm not at all overweight and never have been). As I say maybe people will think I'm shallow but I don't see how I can change the fact I find his body a turn-off. I don't want to leave him and I don't want to have an affair but the idea at the age of 40 that this is it gets me down. I want to find him desirable. I would really like him to lose weight and am willing to support him in this but I don't see how he will manage it without professional help. He comfort eats and a lot of it is done in secret (I find wrappers hidden in draws and food on