Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you need help urgently, please see our domestic violence webguide and/or relationships webguide, which can point you to expert advice and support.

Legal aid for divorce

(9 Posts)
snowflake02 Sun 16-Aug-15 12:11:24

Just wondering if anyone knows if a private therapist can provide a letter of proof of domestic violence? I never went to the police or my GP....I've looked at the list on the legal aid website but I'm not sure if a therapist counts as a health professional? I have a women's aid call reference number, might that help? Finally found a solicitor who can help me but worried that the fact i didn't tell the 'right' people might mean I don't get the help after all.

LaurieFairyCake Sun 16-Aug-15 12:17:38

It wouldn't be taken seriously, only helpful for building an overall picture. Unless you saw a therapist through womens aid?

If I had to write a letter as a private therapist I would likely write (with your full input) that you attended X number of sessions and that they focused on issues around domestic abuse.

LaurieFairyCake Sun 16-Aug-15 12:18:30

You can still go now to the police/GP. And still use it as legal aid 'proof' I think.

snowflake02 Sun 16-Aug-15 12:28:31

Thank you. I saw a counsellor through my GP a couple of years ago, I gave the dr a different reason as I was too ashamed to say why but it was talked about in the sessions. Probably won't count as too long ago.

Smilingforth Sun 16-Aug-15 18:03:49

My thoughts are with you; there is nothing that makes my blood boil more.

snowflake02 Sun 16-Aug-15 19:18:41

Thank you

Twinklestein Sun 16-Aug-15 19:35:55

GPs can be quite shirty about women telling them they've experienced DV at the same time as asking for a letter for legal aid.

So you need to be smart about it.