Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you need help urgently, please see our domestic violence webguide and/or relationships webguide, which can point you to expert advice and support.

help me to decide once and for all

(47 Posts)
listeningtomyheartorhead Sun 28-Jun-15 06:35:20

Im coming to the end of my maternity leave. I work as a teacher (pt 3 days) and I would be going back to work in September. However my entire maternity leave I have been struggling daily with the decision whether to go back or to quit work and become a Sahm.

I posted a thread about this in relationships in the past which I will link to in this thread. The majority opinion you can guess was to go back to work. I have also received that advice from other people I know in rl. For a long time I was 70:30 decided on going back to work.

The problem is although my head fully understands and agrees with that decision I feel like Im literally cutting my heart out. In my heart I now know I desperately wish I could stay with my boys. Especially when I look at my baby I feel sick at the prospect of not being there with him. This is exasperated by the fact that my childcare arrangements are complicated. Dc1 is 3 starting nursery in Sept and dc2 will be 10 months. I can not afford wraparound care in nursery which is what would have made life easiest for me and dc2. So insted he will be with childminder one day and with dm 2 days. The problem is dm lives in another city and he will be overnight with her for 2 days. This helps me as i can concentrate on my work and the real thing i have been dreading is getting the two of them ready and out for a 8.30 start for me.

My previous thread had a bit more about my pros and cons for both decisions which I will briefly outline here.