Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you need help urgently, please see our domestic violence webguide and/or relationships webguide, which can point you to expert advice and support.

Stop the world - I want to get off

(20 Posts)
WherehaveIgoneto Mon 18-May-15 09:01:39

I'm not sure if I'm looking for advice (though I hope someone can give me some), but I just really want to get some things off my chest, because I feel crushed and exhausted.

I'm 29. I came out of an 11 year long emotionally and sexually abusive relationship just over 3 years ago. I feel like I gave myself no time to heal and jumped straight into a new relationship. Which was going very well.

I've spent the last 3 years just living, making up for lost time. I have new hobbies, great friends, my DP is lovely and supportive, I do community stuff, my career has taken off whilst I am also studying to change career and get my dream job (although the one I have isn't bad).

However, I feel sort of hollow inside, and very sad. This has probably been going on for about 6 months. I don't seem to be able to give myself any me time. I can't bear being in the house I share with DP (more on that later).

I'm pretty sure my self esteem is still shot to pieces from my old relationship. All I've done is look forward and try to pack in as much as possible. I can't look after myself emotionally - I spend a lot of time looking after and helping others. I find it impossible to do anything approaching self care or self love.

I met and moved in with DP within about 8 months of leaving my abusive ex. I said at the time this was too soon, but I did it anyway (he didn't pressure me - I was living back with my parents and desperate to move out).