Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you need help urgently, please see our domestic violence webguide and/or relationships webguide, which can point you to expert advice and support.

Why am I finding it so hard to move on from my DD's dad?

(12 Posts)
LearningtoBreathe1 Mon 11-May-15 20:51:21

Hi

I am new to Mumsnet but I have been a lurker for a while.

DD is 4 and I have been with her dad for 8 years. I'm 23 and the dad is 24.

I'm finding it very difficult to move on from DD's dad. I will give you a back story of our relationship.

I was with DD's dad since I was 15 and the first 5 years of our relationship were great, we were truly known to be one of the most loved up couple in our area. Though, when I fell pregnant, moved in together and gave birth to DD at age 19, everything changed. He suddenly became controlling and possessive which then led to emotional and physical abuse. Not only that, DD was born at 24 weeks and myself, her dad and the doctors were increasingly worried if she was going to make it or not.

Fast forward, when DD was around 16 months, we really started to worry about her development, her speech was delayed, she still wasn't walking and we noticed that she was quite floppy and having difficulties with basic motor movements, e.g. holding her head up. After a few tests and scans she was later diagnosed with mild cerebral palsy. As you can imagine, my life turned upside down. Meanwhile the abuse was still going on, we would have good days and bad days. I then thought enough was enough, I took an injunction against him and the court agreed that he would see his daughter via supervised access.